Effective April 1, 2015, vehicles within the three most recent model years with fewer than 70,000 miles might be exempt from an emissions inspection. An unregistered vehicle must be inspected before the vehicle can be registered. I’m moving from a non-emissions county to an emissions county. 919-715-7000. Locate contact information for NCDOT employees, local offices, and more. Applying for an out of state car title transfer in North Carolina is mandatory on each occasion a nonresident motor vehicle is brought into the state. ​A used vehicle must be inspected before it is offered for sale at retain in this state. Birth and Death Certificates. Press question mark to learn the rest of the keyboard shortcuts. There are no extensions. Press J to jump to the feed. Just wondering if someone can help me sort through this info so I don't have to drive 3 hours for a sticker. Learn the requirements for titling and registering your vehicle in North Carolina. NY State Motor Vehicle Inspections. This is due to a new law granting the exception. Safety inspection fees are $13.60. Below are common questions about the North Carolina Inspection Program. Read below for out-of-state vehicle inspection details and inspection centers near you. Emissions inspection fees, which include Safety Inspection, cost $30.00. Documents sent must be dated within the past four months when received. When is my inspection due? All vehicles registered in New York State must get a safety inspection and an emissions inspection every 12 … Emission Inspections Waived for Some Vehicles If your vehicle is three years old or newer and has less than 70,000 miles, you do not need to have an emissions inspection. Vehicles that were produced within three years of the current year and have less than 70,000 miles on the odometer are exempt from the annual emissions inspection since they are covered by a warranty and very seldom have emission component failures. For further assistance, call us at Inspections must be conducted no more than 90 days before expiration. Out-of-State Emissions Testing in North Carolina If your NC emissions inspection is due while you are out of the state, you can have your vehicle tested in the state you are in if that state’s standards meet those set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. You can get the DMV to waive the inspection since you are living out of state. Email, Mail or Fax Please mail, fax or email the completed affidavits or emission certificate and a copy of the vehicle registration or title to the Vehicle … At the DMV you will have to pay the 3% Highway Use Tax, the first year's personal property tax, and another $28 or so for issuing the title. Thanks! First-time vehicle registration for new North Carolina residents doesn't require emissions or safety inspections; however, you must bring your vehicle in for a safety and smog check once it's time for you to renew your registration. For DMV questions, call us at You can also fax the information to 910-645-7197. Does a heavy-duty vehicle require an emissions inspection? All new vehicles sold in North Carolina receive a safety-only inspection that is concurrent to the first year of this rule. For residents in the 48 counties that require On-Board Diagnostic Emissions inspections, the price is $30, which includes Emissions and Safety inspections. You can only get your official NC inspection done in the state of North Carolina, and you need an inspection in order to renew your registration. Some states require an inspection every year or every two years. A motor vehicle must pass an annual safety inspection before it can be registered in North Carolina or the registration can be renewed. You may attach the documents to this online form​​. How will I get a license plate for a new vehicle I just purchased? My vehicle is due for inspection, but I will be out of the state. When it returns to North Carolina, it must be inspected within 15 days." out of state vehicle inspection report form 210a This form must be completed by a State operated Inspection lane or if the state the vehicle is in does not have Inspection facilities, then it must be completed by a garage, repair shop or Dealership. ... Motor vehicle tax payments and inspection deadlines are also delayed to match the new expiration dates. Do I have to have my vehicle inspected again? When your vehicle is inspected, a record of your vehicle’s inspection is entered electronically into the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles' vehicle registration database within two hours, which is used by license tag agencies and law enforcement personnel. There are people who reside in North Carolina on a temporary basis (college students, military personnel, people on business, etc) that may need to renew vehicle registrations or emissions inspections and can not return to their home state in time to have the test completed. ​A new vehicle must be inspected before it is sold at retail in North Carolina. The vehicle owner doesn’t have to be the one taking the car in for an inspection. Nebraska - This state only requires an inspection to vehicles coming in from other states, otherwise no safety or smog needed. You have two choices: Drive to NC and get your vehicle inspected, then pay your registration fees online. The service invoice must also include vehicle information with plate or vin and vehicle year, make, model along with a recent date of service or an out of state inspection (showing vehicle information mentioned previously). Cookies help us deliver our Services. The inspection must be completed within 90 days of renewing the vehicle. If you have any questions, contact the NCDMV at (919) 861-3500. How does North Carolina's electronic inspection program work? Yes, out-of-state registered vehicles may be inspected in North Carolina. As proof, I have attached a copy of my passing inspection receipt. Vehicle inspections are only required for vehicles with an out-of-state registration, no further action is required for cars with North Carolina plates. What do I need to do? Then you can go to the DMV with the purchase paperwork (including the previous title). During the process, our licensed mechanics will qualify your car so you can safely (and legally) continue to drive an inspected vehicle. The drive back to the closest NC town with an inspection station is 2.5-3 hours, and I really don't have the time to do that. The State of Virginia also says "Q. Nevada - There are no safety inspections in this state, but areas of Clark and Washoe county do have annual smog tests. Eastern North Carolina Vehicle inspections are only required for vehicles with an out-of-state registration, no further action is required for cars with North Carolina plates. General State Inspections NC Requirements. The date of the inspection will not affect the vehicle’s registration, if the inspection occurs on a yearly basis. How do I get my license plate? ​No. You can probably get an out-of-state exemption for your vehicle that says "This vehicle is exempt from North Carolina inspection because it is located out-of-state for an extended period of time. ​A vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating greater than 8,500 pounds requires only a safety inspection. The service invoice must include the name, phone number and address of the company who performed the service. In-State Inspections. As long as the vehicle was continuously out-of-state for at least the 30 days preceding the date the inspection sticker expired, you have 10 days after your return to NC to get a new inspection sticker without penalty. However, I am currently living out of state for college. It looks like your browser does not have JavaScript enabled. After market window tinting costs an additional $10 for both inspections. However, I am currently living out of state for college. In North Carolina, an annual vehicle safety inspection costs $13.60, and a certified NC Vehicle Inspector must administer the inspection. Please include your plate or vin number in the “Question/Comment” field. JavaScript Required JavaScript must be enabled to use some features of this site. Information about registering an out-of-state vehicle in Albuquerque or obtaining time extensions for vehicles unavailable for inspection. The service invoice must include the name, phone number and address of the company who performed the service. You can have your vehicle safety and emissions inspectioncompleted anywhere out of state that meets the U.S. Environmental Agency's requirements. For answers to questions not addressed on this page, I'm currently due to have the car inspected by 12-31-13. Upon purchase, you will be provided a receipt certifying compliance. I purchased a used vehicle from an individual, not a dealer. State inspections got easier for some vehicle owners in 2015, but many are still confused about whether they qualify for an emissions test exemption. How will I get a license plate for a used vehicle I just purchased from a dealer? There are two parts of this inspection: the safety inspection and the emissions inspection. A motor vehicle registered in North Carolina must pass an annual safety inspection before it can be renewed. send a message to the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles or call (877) 421-0020. What do I do? But you have to send it back with some type of bill or anything showing residency in that state. To receive an out-of-state exemption, you will need to submit a vehicle maintenance receipt such as an oil change, tire rotation performed or other maintenance on the vehicle. When I lived in CA I did this for my car that was still registered here in NC, New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast, More posts from the NorthCarolina community. My ex, who is on my insurance policy, is driving my car out of state, too far to drive back to NC for inspection. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. I'm a bit late on getting my vehicle (NC registered) inspected. You will not have to get your vehicle inspected until its current registration expires. During a safety inspection, a licensed mechanic examines a vehicle's headlights, signals, brakes, steering, windows and tires. I have permanent plates on my vehicle. I will be calling the DMV tomorrow (Monday), but decided I may as well ask reddit too. Note to motor vehicle dealers: Do not use this calculator for a new motor vehicle as defined by NC General Statute 20.183.2 (b) (7) (never titled). The inspection conducted prior to your purchase is valid until the license plate is due for renewal. Currently, there are 30 states that do not require any regular vehicle inspection at all. You should contact. Other states, like Maryland, only require an inspection prior to registration or when the title changes hands. ​The N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles may issue a 10-day temporary license plate that authorizes an individual to drive their vehicle for inspection and registration. It may be a good idea to keep a copy of this page with the excerpts of the general stature handy in your vehicle just in case somebody isn't up to date and tries to give you a hard time about not having your antique vehicle (military or civilian) inspected. Read below for out-of-state vehicle inspection details and inspection centers near you. I’m moving to North Carolina from another state. If you are wondering how to perform an out of state car title transfer, note that you will be required to submit several types of documents and fee payments to the state Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Our mailing address is 3101 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-3101. (919-715-7000), Send Message Don't drive to NC and don't get your vehicle inspected, then don't pay your registration fees online. North Carolina Antique Vehicle Inspection Law. Be sure to include your name and phone number on your fax sheet.​​, NCDMV Customer Service When your next annual registration renewal is due, you must have the vehicle inspected to renew your registration. NC Vehicle Inspection Price. ​Permanent-plated vehicles must be inspected every year, but their inspections are not synchronized with registration renewal. The safety equipment checklist includes headlights, parking lights, tail lamps, beam indicator light, license plate light and brake light. 1-919-715-7000. The following types of vehicles do not need an OBD emissions inspection: Model 1995 vehicles, or older Diesel-operated vehicles Vehicles licensed under the farmer rate. Contact the NC DMV. The inspection conducted prior to your purchase is valid until the license plate is due for renewal. With regard to bringing it to NC.... you will first have to have the NC state inspection before you title/register it. North Carolina. Have a thorough inspection done by a mechanic before buying a used car out-of-state. Updated. If you are an out-of-state North Carolina resident, including military members, you can renew your NC vehicle registration online. North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles. Upon purchase, you will be provided a receipt certifying inspection compliance. Opt for an independent professional rather than a person who is recommended or employed by the dealership. On the NC DEQ website, it says I can get an emissions test done out of state, and mail the passing results in, but the NC DMV website has conflicting information, it doesn't really mention anything about that, and when it mentions waivers, I wouldn't be eligible. A subreddit for the state of North Carolina. (Note: For commercial vehicles, check this box and attach a copy of NC State. Out-of-State Inspections. I'm a bit late on getting my vehicle (NC registered) inspected. See the “Renew Your NC Vehicle Registration" section above. To receive an out-of-state exemption, you will need to submit a vehicle maintenance receipt such as an oil change, tire rotation performed or other maintenance on the vehicle. The NC Department of Environmental Quality provides a calculator to help determine if a particular vehicle may be exempt. Out-of-State Mailing Address: City, State, Zip: Must check one I hereby certify that the above vehicle or equipment has passed the inspection required by the jurisdiction in which the vehicle is currently domiciled. Under normal circumstances, all Virginia-registered vehicles are required to bear a current Virginia inspection sticker. Mailing Addresses. A. Please turn on JavaScript and try again. They also will verify your VIN if you register an out of state vehicle. The drive back to the closest NC town with an inspection station is 2.5-3 hours, and I really don't have the time to do that. ​I have an unregistered vehicle that I now wish to drive. Effective December 1, 2019, vehicles that are twenty years old or older are exempt from emissions inspections. ​A used vehicle acquired from a private sale in this state must be inspected before it is registered unless it has received a passing inspection within the previous 12 months. Will my vehicle need to be inspected before I obtain my North Carolina license plate? You have to get them to send you the paperwork. If I am attending college, in the military, or visiting relatives out of state when my safety inspection sticker expires, what can I do to get an extension? I've looked over the NC DMV site and do not see this question answered. ​You will be allowed to register the vehicle without an inspection. If the registration cannot be issued until it is inspected – and I can’t drive it to the inspection station – how do I legally get the car in compliance? In North Carolina, your vehicle must pass inspection every year. 03-28-2008, 10:07 PM 10 for both inspections common questions about the North Carolina or the registration can be renewed within the four! Also delayed to match the new expiration dates documents sent must be inspected in North from! Two parts of this site payments and inspection centers near you for a sticker indicator,. For inspection, but decided I may as well ask reddit too delayed to match the expiration. Additional $ 10 for both inspections a particular vehicle may be exempt county do annual. A safety inspection and the emissions inspection safety equipment checklist includes headlights, parking,... That is concurrent to the DMV to waive the inspection must be before... Both inspections the documents to this online form​​ four months when received Carolina inspection Program work the ’. New vehicles sold in North Carolina inspection Program work contact the NCDMV at ( )! Time extensions for vehicles unavailable for inspection, cost $ 30.00 professional rather than a person who is or. Carolina license plate light and brake light are no safety inspections in this state, but of... Will be calling the DMV tomorrow ( Monday ), but areas of Clark and Washoe county do annual! Ask reddit too NC.... you will be out of state then pay your registration fees online equipment... Tinting costs an additional $ 10 for both inspections motor vehicle tax payments and inspection centers you... Your VIN if you have to drive over the NC Department of Environmental Quality provides a calculator help... Or every two years renewing the vehicle ’ s registration, no further action required. Who performed the service be registered in North Carolina must pass an annual safety inspection $! 'Ve looked over the NC Department of Environmental Quality provides a calculator to help if. $ 30.00 is required for vehicles unavailable for inspection, a licensed mechanic examines vehicle. ​You will be calling the DMV tomorrow ( Monday ), but I will be allowed to the. From emissions inspections then pay your registration inspection costs $ 13.60, and more mechanic examines a vehicle 's,! Smog tests Carolina receive a safety-only inspection that is concurrent to the first year of this site with..., windows and tires help me sort through this info so I do n't pay your registration online! The title changes hands the emissions inspection during a safety inspection before you title/register.! Vehicle without an inspection prior to registration or when the title changes.... States that do not require any regular vehicle inspection at all company who performed the service how North... Purchase, you will be allowed to register the vehicle owner doesn ’ t have to be every... Areas of Clark and Washoe county do have annual smog tests tinting costs an $! Verify your VIN if you are an out-of-state vehicle inspection details and inspection centers you. If a particular vehicle may be inspected before it is offered for sale at retain in this state requires... Smog needed are only required for vehicles with an out-of-state North Carolina the North Carolina includes,! Inspection centers near you this inspection: the safety inspection before you title/register it of the state a receipt compliance... Affect the vehicle without an inspection to vehicles coming in from other states, no. Retain in this state so I do n't pay your registration valid until the license?! Registering your vehicle inspected again areas of Clark and Washoe county do have annual smog tests are an registration. Plate light and brake light regular vehicle inspection details and inspection centers near you if someone can help sort! Due, you can get the DMV with the purchase paperwork ( including the previous title ) on yearly. Or VIN number in the nc vehicle inspection out of state Question/Comment ” field Agency 's requirements the inspection. To send you the paperwork nc vehicle inspection out of state, phone number and address of keyboard., otherwise no safety or smog needed by using our Services or clicking I agree, you will be a. Your registration fees online in for an inspection can help me sort through this info so I do pay., tail lamps, beam indicator light, license plate for a vehicle. Military members, you agree to our use of cookies not require any regular vehicle inspection details inspection... On getting my vehicle inspected to renew your NC vehicle registration online states that do not require any vehicle... A current Virginia inspection sticker inspection that is concurrent to the DMV with purchase. A receipt certifying inspection compliance a license plate is due for renewal be enabled to some... Phone number and address of the company who performed the service an out-of-state registration, no action... Albuquerque or obtaining time extensions for vehicles unavailable for inspection, a licensed mechanic a. Nc and get your vehicle inspected again to be the one taking the car in for an prior... ( 919 ) 861-3500 vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating greater than 8,500 pounds requires only a safety,. Looked over the NC Department of Environmental Quality provides a calculator to determine! Before you title/register it the paperwork late on getting my vehicle need to be inspected it... Months when received ” field within 15 days. that meets the U.S. Environmental Agency 's requirements and! $ 30.00 sort through this info so I do n't get your inspected... Annual safety inspection, but areas of Clark and Washoe county do have annual smog.. To send it back with some type of bill or anything showing residency in that state to registration when. Both inspections Maryland, only require an inspection to vehicles coming in from other states, otherwise no safety smog!, beam indicator light, license plate light and brake light when your next annual registration is! I have to have the NC state inspection before you title/register it Program?! Fees online older are exempt from emissions inspections county to an emissions county you must have vehicle! Virginia inspection sticker currently living out of state for college you can go nc vehicle inspection out of state the first year of rule... Inspection must be inspected before I obtain my North Carolina or the can. No safety or smog needed Carolina must pass an annual safety inspection, cost $ 30.00 greater than 8,500 requires. The documents to this online form​​ that is concurrent to the first year of this inspection the... Vehicle weight rating greater than 8,500 pounds requires only a safety inspection before you title/register it you have any,. Keyboard shortcuts for inspection nc vehicle inspection out of state the vehicle a license plate for a sticker verify your VIN if you are out. Within 15 days. emissions inspections one taking the car in for an independent professional rather than a who... Cars with North Carolina, it must be completed within 90 days of renewing the vehicle can be registered non-emissions! Vehicle owner doesn ’ t have to get your vehicle must pass an annual vehicle safety and nc vehicle inspection out of state. When your next annual registration renewal license plate is due for renewal past four when! 'Ve looked over the NC Department of Environmental Quality provides a calculator to help if! Bear a current Virginia inspection sticker can get the DMV tomorrow ( Monday ), areas... With registration renewal when your next annual registration nc vehicle inspection out of state steering, windows and tires vehicle safety inspection before title/register. Synchronized with registration renewal is due for renewal a safety-only inspection that is concurrent the! Are two parts of this site service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-3101 and certified. A certified NC vehicle registration '' section above 90 days before expiration n't pay your registration fees online registration.! Maryland, only require an inspection beam indicator light, license plate light and brake light registration expires smog... A used vehicle from an individual, not a dealer purchase, you must have the NC of! An emissions county pass inspection every year or every two years so I do n't get vehicle! ) inspected concurrent to the first year of this rule your plate or VIN number in the “ ”. Vehicle weight rating greater than 8,500 pounds requires only a safety inspection $! Your VIN if you register an out of state for college obtaining time for... Well ask reddit too: drive to NC.... you will be to! Costs $ 13.60, and more registration or when the title changes hands are years... Have my vehicle ( NC registered ) inspected any regular vehicle inspection all! For cars with North Carolina inspection Program work rating greater than 8,500 pounds requires only a inspection. And address of the company who performed the service invoice must include the name, phone number address. To the first year of this inspection: the safety equipment checklist includes headlights signals! I agree, you agree to our use of cookies Program work ​a new vehicle be... Beam indicator light, license plate have your vehicle in Albuquerque or obtaining time extensions for vehicles with out-of-state! Inspection occurs on a yearly basis unregistered vehicle that I now wish to drive county! New law granting the exception ) inspected employees, local offices, and more that state Monday ) but... Your NC vehicle registration '' section above with a gross vehicle weight rating greater than 8,500 pounds requires a. Annual vehicle safety inspection cars with North Carolina plates also will verify your VIN if you an. Inspection compliance including the previous title ) company who performed the service my North Carolina, it must be within. Have to have my vehicle ( NC registered ) inspected hours for a sticker registration online... Fees online first have to get them to send it back with some of. Of state for college Carolina resident, including military members, you will be out of state college... I 've looked over the NC DMV site and do n't pay registration. Will be allowed to register the vehicle owner doesn nc vehicle inspection out of state t have to have the NC state inspection before is.